Raja Yoga

Here is a short description of this style of yoga – to learn more join our JIIVA tribe and come on the #JIIVAjourney with us!

What is it? 

“In Sanskrit text, Raja Yoga was both the goal of yoga and a method of attaining it. The term also became a modern name for the practice of yoga, when in the 19th-century Swami Vivekananda equated Raja Yoga with the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali.”

What does it mean? 

Raja means chief or king so this path of yoga is often called ‘royal yoga’.

Who founded it? 

Raja Yoga as a system of yoga was described in the teachings of Patanjali in his text the Yoga Sutra’s. It is one of the oldest known systemised yoga practices and therefore referred to as ‘classical yoga’.

How did it evolve?

This path of yoga is known as Ashtanga Yoga due to the eight parts in which it is organised – Yama (self control), Niyama (discipline), Asana (physical exercises), Pranayama (breath exercises), Pratyahara (withdrawal of senses), Dharana (concentration), Dhyana (meditation), and Samadhi (realisation)

What is a class like?

Raja Yogais the underlying philosophic and holistic principals that have guided most modern styles of Yoga, as they come from the foundational texts of Yoga. Raja is what guides most classes although it isn’t common for it to be referenced during a class or found on a western timetable.